I spoke in June at the ‘Creative Summit‘ in Bristol – the event was hosted by the South West Regional Development Authority and designed to help develop the creative sector in the region. As well as doing the presentation, I was asked to contribute an article to the website, summarising my argument.

The article is now written, and as well as sending a copy to the organisers, I’ve posted a copy to a newly created selected articles ‘resources’ page on the blog.

For people with short attention spans, my argument is that there are four areas which are challenging the way we think about creative and digital media, and these are ‘identity’, ‘place’, ‘free’, and ‘re-use’. Although these are being expressed in the way we use digital media, they represent deeper and more embedded social trends. The outcome of these is that the next wave of innovation in digital media will effectively reconnect the digital world with the tangible world.